Caroline Stills talks about her launch

mm1

Magic Mummy Celebration

On Saturday 23rd May, a book celebration was held at the Belgrave Library for Magic Mummy, my first book.

It was a sunny autumn day, and despite the colds and viruses doing the rounds, over 100 people attended, many of them children.

The book was launched by talented children’s author Delwyne Stephens, and MC, poet Marian Spires, made sure everything went as planned. After my thank you speech, Vicki Thornton, who is a natural with kids, read Magic Mummy to a group of well-behaved children. They then had fun drawing pictures of their own magic mummies, and describing their most magical skill.

While the children were being entertained, I had the pleasure of signing copies of Magic Mummy for my wonderful family, friends and ‘hills’ neighbours. Kristen and Karen, from black dog books, were kept busy with sales.

It was lovely to meet illustrator Christina Miesen, who did such an amazing job with the illustrations for Magic Mummy. I was lucky enough to get her to sign copies of the book for me and my daughters.

I had a fantastic afternoon, and was touched by the amount of support I received. I only wish I had remembered to pull out the camcorder, so I could relive it all later. Thank you to everyone who helped make the Magic Mummy book celebration such a magical day.

Caroline Stills
With thanks to Jenni Ivins for the use of her photos


 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Caroline Stills talks about her launch

  1. Jenni Ivins says:

    It was, indeed, a fabulous book launch, Caroline. Everyone was so happy making it easy for me to capture great photos all afternoon.
    Delwyne, Marian and Vicki all performed their roles to perfection (excellent choices) and the food table was impressive.
    It was a truly magical event. Congratulations! May the booksales demand many reprints.

Leave a Reply

