On the eleventh day of Christmas…

…the gorgeous Shirley Marr is in the spotlight. Shirley has been writing since she was in primary school. Despite being slammed in Yr 8 for writing an avant-garde story and fired from the Yr 12 yearbook committee, writing has always been her passion.

What does Christmas mean to you?

I don’t personally celebrate Christmas myself, so I end up celebrating it with anyone who will take me into their home. I like to eat their food and watch everyone being merry. I also like to wear a paper crown out of a cracker. I try and observe what Christmas means to everyone around me like an alien, it’s fun!

What was your favourite Christmas present ever?

My Macbook, which I wrote Fury on. And which I’m hopefully going to write many, many more novels on!

What was your worst Christmas present ever?

An Edward Cullen barbie doll last year. But by the longing looks I constantly flash at it, I might secretly love it.

What book will you be reading this Christmas?

‘Christmas Carols From the Kennel’ by “Santa Paws” (published by Red Dog) – I have it personally signed by Santa Paws, who I can’t reveal the secret identity of or else it will certainly get me on the Naughty List.

If you ever had the chance to meet Santa what would you say?

I would ask him “is it true that the Easter Bunny doesn’t exist?”

Have you ever kissed someone under the mistletoe?

I’m still waiting (sad face).

Did you ever appear on Santa’s ‘naughty’ list…if so, what did you do?

I suspect I appear on Santa’s naughty list every year. When I buy a pack of chocolate biscuits I always say ‘I’ll just have the one’, but I end up eating the entire packet in one go, so I am a terrible liar. I deserve to be on that list!

What’s your favourite Christmas song?

‘Last Christmas’. ‘Because Last Christmas I gave you my heart, but the very next day, you gave it away’… why would anyone do that?

What food do you always eat too much of at Christmas time?

Plum pudding with brandy custard! I literally drink the custard. And Christmas cake. I ended up stealing all the pieces with the glace cherries in it.

If you could invite 5 people to your Christmas dinner who would they be?

I like the idea of finding five people I know who are completely alone for Christmas and inviting them together.

If you had your own reindeer what would you call it?

Deer Cupid

What decoration do you put on the top of your Christmas tree?

A tiny Andrew Kelly cut out. Because he’s an Angel for wanting to publish my book.

Visit Shirley’s website to read all the latest news and gossip on Shirley and her debut novel Fury www.shirleymarr.net

Don’t forget to leave a comment below for your chance to win a fabulous Christmas prize pack. Leave a comment on any of our posts between the 9th-20th December for your chance to win. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 21st.

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Giveaways and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to On the eleventh day of Christmas…

  1. Sam Whitehouse says:

    OMG Shirley you’re so cute! I’m all for you coming to celebrate Christmas with us…if only we weren’t a whole country width’s apart! I love my MacBook too! I’m working on the writing of my first novel on it…maybe I’ll have the same luck! Merry Christmas 🙂 miss you! x

  2. Shirley, I love the image of you sitting at someone else’s Christmas table observing the doings with the gaze of an ‘alien’! Being an athiest myself, our family regard it as a celebration of family and friends, and appreciation of our lives. And sometime during our Queensland Xmas lunch, we’ll toast the future in a hope that all Australians will realise eventually that we have a duty to share our big, beautiful, peaceful country with those from war-torn places.
    Happy solstice!
    Sheryl X
    PS You’re most welcome to visit our table too! 🙂 You could have a great chat with my mum who is also called Shirley!

    • Shirley Marr says:

      Hi Sheryl, I love your philosophy! I love chatting to other Shirleys (sometimes I feel like I carry the sad weight of knowing it is a name going extinct) so I would love to sit next to your mum!

  3. Shirley Marr says:

    Sam, no YOU are cute lol, I wish you the same luck with your novel:) I’d love to have you on my fantasy Chrissie dinner party.

    Along with Danny Katz (looks like it’s me and Danny representing on the ethnic minority side. Word.), which would be ideal cos I don’t eat pork either… except it appears Danny eats ham lol.

  4. MELANIE says:

    my reindeer would be raindeer flypants

  5. Kris says:

    Ho Ho Ho Shirley, May you be showered with fun presents and friends bearing Christmas cake this year!

  6. Caz Williams says:

    Thos year you must ask for Action Man so he and Eddie can play! Glug down that custard – I’m with you on that one. Happy holidays 🙂 xxx

  7. Nomes says:

    LOL @ the Edward Cullen doll. Those things are a little bit freaky 🙂

    I love her 5 guests for Christmas ~ that’s such a cool idea. i suspect they’d have a pretty memorable Christmas with someone like Shirley Marr! 🙂

  8. Dee White says:

    Shirley,

    I have to say that I’m unable to resist the Christmas pudding too – even despite the fact that one year we accidentally ended up with asparagus and not brandy sauce on it. I was about 7 and finding those chewy bits of asparagus still gives me nightmares:) (but doesn’t stop me eating Christmas pudding).

    Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and I look forward to reading your next book.

    Dee:)

Leave a Reply

