On the ninth day of Christmas…

…we welcome the delightful Sue Lawson. Sue is the award-winning author of books for children and young adults. When she’s not writing, Sue obsesses over football, plays Singstar badly, and watches movies.

What does Christmas mean to you?

Christmas is a time for being with people I love, for celebrating and for giving thanks for how lucky I am. Corny I know, but true.

What was your favourite Christmas present ever?

Hmmm – a large Snoopy stuffed toy. I loved Peanuts cartoons, and still do. When I was about 14 I longed for a large Snoopy stuffed toy. I was overjoyed when Santa delivered. I still have Snoopy and my collection of Peanuts books.

What was your worst Christmas present ever?

A game called Battle of the Bulge – I didn’t realise it was a board game based on a WWII battle. I took it personally – in my defence, I was overweight as well as over sensitive.

What book will you be reading this Christmas?

A book my friend recommended – The Help (can’t remember who wrote it but do remember the name of the friend – Maryann!) also, I need to re read Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows. (Maybe I won’t cry this time.

If you ever had the chance to meet Santa what would you say?

Thank you for the Snoopy – I love it. Battle of the Bulge, not so much.

Did you ever appear on Santa’s ‘naughty’ list?

Absolutely – and there were many times I should have but somehow escaped the list.

The question is what do I want to confess up to? Painting white ink on the back of a nun’s habit? (it was only a splodge), sneaking a cigarette at the school disco…actually I got away with both of those….

Did you ever sneak a peek at your Christmas presents?

Yep! Mum hid our gifts under her bed in a blue suitcase – every year. Probably still does.

What’s your favourite Christmas song?

Not ‘Rusty Holden Ute’  (to the tune  of Jingle Bells) that makes my ears bleed.

My fave Christmas song is probably The First Noel – reminds me of my grandparents.

Have you ever kissed someone under the mistletoe?

Not sure I have actually – mistletoe isn’t big in our family.

What food do you always eat too much of at Christmas time?

Chocolate coated peanuts and Christmas pudding. Not together!

If you could invite 5 people to your Christmas dinner who would they be?

If it can only be people who are alive, then my husband and daughter, Ross Noble, Mick Malthouse and Sting, and if I can add a dead one, I’d have either John Lennon or Charles M Shultz

Which reindeer is your favourite and why?

Rudolph – that red nose does it for me! And he’s the under dog.

What decoration do you put on the top of your Christmas tree?

Angel – we used to lift  my daughter to place it on the tree last – now she can reach it on her own!

Catch all the latest news about Sue at her website www.suelawson.com.au

Don’t forget to leave a comment below for your chance to win a fabulous Christmas prize pack. Leave a comment on any of our posts between the 9th-20th December for your chance to win. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 21st.

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Giveaways and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the ninth day of Christmas…

  1. Sam Whitehouse says:

    Everybody loves the underdog! Merry Christmas!

  2. Shirley Marr says:

    Oooo I love Snoopy! So the best present is the best and that worst present is very, very worst! Sue, I love you, Dare You is still my favourite novel of 2010 🙂

  3. Irene says:

    Snoopy Rules! I have a real Snoopy dog and a couple of Snoopy dog toys. Go Snoopy!

  4. MELANIE says:

    Christmas is all about family and togetherness for me a time for everyone to get together and catch up on whats going on in everyones lives

  5. kylie plester says:

    Who names a board game the Battle of the Bulge. Lol!

Leave a Reply

