On the seventh day of Christmas…

…our guest blogger is the award-winning author, Carole Wilkinson.  Carole has a fascination with dragons and is interested in the history of everything. Her best-selling Dragonkeeper Trilogy, has been translated into 11 different languages and has been published in over fifteen countries.

What does Christmas mean to you?

A time for family to get together to talk and eat with nowhere else to rush off to.

What was your favourite Christmas present ever?

My ‘big doll’, Susan. I’ve still got her.

What was your worst Christmas present ever?

A Pekinese puppy, which was a gift from a friend of Mum’s. Mum (and I) assumed it was for me and my brother. I was just thinking, ‘Oh well, it’s kind of cute,’ when the friend said ‘He’s not for you, Carole. He’s for Brian [my brother].’ I didn’t get anything.

What book will you be reading this Christmas?

I’m going to re-read my most favourite books in the world—Possession, Blind Assassin and Name of the Rose—to see if they still are my favourites.

If you ever had the chance to meet Santa what would you say?

‘It’s 35 degrees, do you really need that woolly hat?’

Did you ever appear on Santa’s ‘naughty’ list?

No. I didn’t want to miss out on any presents.

Did you ever sneak a peek at your Christmas presents?

Yes, once. I didn’t unwrap them, but I got an idea from the size and shape. Only once. I prefer the excitement and surprise.

What’s your favourite Christmas song?

I’m not good with favourites. I have lists. My favourite carols are Ding Dong Merrily on High and The Holly and the Ivy. I also like We Wish You a Merry Christmas for the figgy pudding bits. And I’m very fond of the Disney version of Sleigh Ride.

Have you ever kissed someone under the mistletoe?

Only my Dad when I was little.

What food do you always eat too much of at Christmas time?

Everything! Turkey, potatoes (roasted in duck fat), pudding, and trifle. And chocolate.

If you could invite 5 people to your Christmas dinner who would they be?

Just my family—husband John, daughter Lili, her partner Michael and my parents. Sadly, my parents are too old to make the trip to Melbourne now.

Which reindeer is your favourite and why?

Blitzen. He’s always last.

If you had your own reindeer what would you call it?

Len.

What decoration do you put on the top of your Christmas tree?

A star.

You can read more about Carole and her books at her website. While you’re there make sure you check out Carole’s fabulous Dragon Tour of Melbourne. www.carolewilkinson.com.au

Don’t forget to leave a comment below for your chance to win a fabulous Christmas prize pack. Leave a comment on any of our posts between the 9th-20th December for your chance to win. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, 21st December.

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Giveaways and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On the seventh day of Christmas…

  1. Sam Whitehouse says:

    You guys have all had awesome answers for the question “Who is your favourite reindeer?”
    Bad luck about the puppy! Merry Christmas!

  2. Oh the puppy story nearly broke my heart. I can just imagine that little girl! I am sure that big doll made up for it though. I remember being given an old doll out of a donation bag at Christmas. The school were sorting rag bags and there was an antique doll in one. It had a cracked head but I loved it. It went missing and I always wondered were it went. Only a few years ago I spotted it on my Gran’s dresser. My mum must have thought it was too valuable for a little girl but I did value it tremendously. I have a photo of it though.

  3. Shirley Marr says:

    mmmm potatoes roasted in duck fat 🙂 my favourite. Can I be adopted by Carole?

  4. Deb K says:

    I love that you never made the naughty list for Santa! 🙂

  5. Irene says:

    You still have your ‘big doll’. It must have great sentimental value, that’s what I call a good present. I also love presents to keep forever.

  6. MELANIE says:

    have to say im dissapointed i have never been kissed under the mistletoe

Leave a Reply

