On the sixth day of Christmas…

…we have the talented, Dean Jones. Dean is an award-winning illustrator whose work ranges from children’s books to covers for YA fiction and non-ficton. Dean has an interest in psychology and music and once put on make up, platform boots and a cape to play his childhood hero, Ace Frehley, in a Kiss tribute band.

What does Christmas mean to you?

The three “F”s, Family, food and freakin enormous presents!!! I also have a love hate relationship with what I like to call the “Christmas Arvo Big Belly Lie Down”

What was your favourite Christmas present ever?

A whole ring of homemade triple layered icecream…chocolate, vanilla and cassata, covered in roasted almonds…just for me (but I did share it!)

What was your worst Christmas present ever?

Some novelty undies with elephant eyes and a trunk…who wears these things?

What book will you be reading this Christmas?

I will be reading “Watercolor Painting with Passion” by Alavaro Castagne, it is out of print, but a very special person found me a copy for my Birthday recently.

If you ever had the chance to meet Santa what would you say?

What did I do?

Did you ever appear on Santa’s ‘naughty’ list…if so, what did you do?

I think so, many times, because he hasn’t been to my house for a while. I have no idea what I did…

Did you ever sneak a peek at your Christmas presents?

No, never ever…I love surprises too much, and I love presents so much that I can’t open them all at once, I like to spread them through they day.

What’s your favourite Christmas song?

The first one I hear and the last one I hear every year.

Have you ever kissed someone under the mistletoe?

Do we have mistletoe in Australia? If we do, I have missed out on a lot of kisses.

What food do you always eat too much of at Christmas time?

Dessert wins every time.

If you could invite 5 people to your Christmas dinner who would they be?

Jesus Christ (birthday bash), John Lennon, Leonardo DaVinci, Father Christmas, and the guy/girl who makes the ice-cream and cakes at Gelobar in East Brunswick.

Which reindeer is your favourite and why?

Vixen for having the coolest name, and in second place is Donner for sounding like a kebab.

If you had your own reindeer what would you call it?

Kevin.

What decoration do you put on the top of your Christmas tree?

I like a star, nothing too flashy…would like to carve one out of wood some day. Can you get chocolate stars?

Find out more about Dean and his latest books at his website. Be sure to check out his book trailer! www.deanjones.com.au

Don’t forget to leave a comment below for your chance to win a fabulous Christmas prize pack. Leave a comment on any of our posts between the 9th-20th December for your chance to win. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, 21st December.

This entry was posted in Author Interview, Giveaways and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the sixth day of Christmas…

  1. Beth Montgomery says:

    It’s a pity we didn’t get a photo of the novelty jocks…

  2. kylie plester says:

    I agree those novelty jocks sound amusing. And we do have a distinct lack of kissing under the mistletoe on Australia

  3. Shirley Marr says:

    my copy of “All Through the Night” has come through the post and I really can’t bear to give it away. I want to tear out the “magic ticket” inside and clutch at it excitedly while someone reads me the story… but alas, I am too old 😦

  4. Sam Whitehouse says:

    “In second place is Donner for sounding like a kebab.”
    ^^^ agreed! Kevin is also a very good reindeer name!
    Merry Christmas!

  5. MELANIE says:

    What a yummy christmas present

Leave a Reply

