The newest puppy in the kennel – meet intern Alison!

Who am I?

It’s a question I often ask myself, and I’m still rather perplexed. So far, I’m pretty sure of the following …

My name is Alison, and I’ve recently arrived at the bdb kennel as an intern. I have almost finished my postgraduate diploma in Editing and Publishing at Melbourne University – I just need to get rid of some pesky assignments and then I’ll be free! I’ve lived in Melbourne my whole life, and – dare I admit it? – I’m not a huge footy fan. I know that’s almost blasphemous, but I just don’t get it. If you want to talk rugby though – union mostly – I’m all ears. I try to make up for this awful flaw in my Melbournian-character by loving food. And I do love food, both the cooking and eating of it. This is lucky since Melbourne has awesome food. More than food, I love coffee. I’m a short black person. I used to be a skinny-moccacino-with-extra-chocolate person, but that was just too complicated for some people to handle. So, I simplified.

I’m excited to be at bdb because I want to work in children’s and YA publishing. I have very romantic ideas about working on books that inspire children’s imaginations and dreams, that give them the first hint that impossible things are possible – and what better place to learn about making such books than bdb?

Why I read …

People read for all sorts of reasons. I read to escape; to be whisked away on a magic carpet ride; to imagine doing things that are impossible, weird, or are a little bit crazy – at least in this world. I read to see the world differently; to open my mind to new ways of seeing and different possibilities.

Sometimes my favourite place to runaway to is a book. It’s my sanctuary. It’s a world where I can safely explore thoughts, ideas and feelings. And in each book I read I find a new part of me. That’s perhaps the best adventure of all.
Why do you read? I’d love to hear about it in the comments.

This entry was posted in Work Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The newest puppy in the kennel – meet intern Alison!

  1. Steph says:

    Welcome, Alison! I’m another one of those strange Melburnians who doesn’t follow the football, so I know how you feel! (I do love a good coffee, though)

    I read because it’s a way of living many different lives, seeing many different worlds, and being able to have many different perspectives. 🙂

Leave a Reply

