Giveaway – Six by Karen Tayleur

We are giving away a copy of our latest release Six by Karen Tayleur. All you have to do to be in the draw is to leave a comment below telling us why you’d like to win. The winner will be randomly drawn next Friday. Good luck!

Six takes the reader into the lives of six teenagers on the brink of adulthood. The story begins where it ends, in the aftermath of a terrible car accident. But something else is lurking behind the apparently normal lives of these Year 12 students. Five of them have found a body in the woods during the summer. When they report it anonymously, the discovery has implications for all of them.

‘Karen Tayleur’s coming-of-age story is both masterfully written and thoroughly gripping.’
— Frances Atkinson, The Age

Sorry this competition is open to Australian residents only.

This Competition is now closed. Please see this blog post for details of winner.

This entry was posted in Giveaways, New Releases and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Giveaway – Six by Karen Tayleur

  1. Lynn says:

    I’m writing my first YA and learn so much from reading other works within the genre. This sounds like a great story and even if I don’t win it, I’m going to buy it anyway! But it would be nice to win it though!

  2. cassp says:

    I’m almost 30 and still haven’t grown out of YA fiction… and Six sounds like a cracker!

  3. Rachel Freebury says:

    I love YA fiction and read a lot from that genre even though I’m no longer a young adult 🙂

  4. Janet Marsh says:

    YA fiction is spellbinding! I haven’t read this author yet – but what a great way to start.

  5. Wendy Siryj says:

    Poignant message, imperative for our pre-motoring young & younger adults.

  6. Sally Hall says:

    Reason 1: I loved Hostage by Karen Tayleur
    Reason 2: The story sounds intriguing and I genuinely want to know what happened
    Reason 3: The cover artwork is powerful
    Reason 4: Karen’s blog reveals some interesting insights into why she wrote this story
    Reason 5: I enjoy YA novels
    Reason 6: I love winning stuff!!!

  7. Sarah says:

    I saw Karen at the Melbourne Writers Festival and she made the book sound really interesting! And I loved the story of how the cover art was chosen. All in all, it sounds awesome.

  8. Catherine Brauer says:

    I’m 30 and have not outgrown YA fiction – I work at the local library and will definately reccomend this book for our YA section.

  9. Amy says:

    A friend of mine is a really fantastic YA writer and I am constantly going to her for referrals of what the next up and coming book is that I should read. She suggested this one, I looked around for a copy and found it really hard to buy one. I would love to read it, it sounds amazing and she is usually pretty spot on with her advice.

  10. Jennifer K. says:

    I’d love to win a copy because I’m an avid YA fiction reader. Never grown out of it, the cover art only captivates me even more – can’t wait for a great read!

  11. Angela says:

    I love these kind of books and I can clearly relate to the students. I love crime fiction, sounds like a really good book, I’d love to get my hands on it.

  12. Qi Zhi says:

    Reading the little synopsis already gives me the chills, now I have to get the book.

  13. redballoons says:

    ahh I can just imagine that happening.. please enter me in! It’d be a great read for both my sister and myself.

  14. Roger says:

    I want to win because it’d not only be a great book for me to read, but for my younger children as well. They’re not really bookworms but really into murder mysteries – I hope I can get them back into reading!

  15. teresazed says:

    Sounds like a pretty good book, I hope I can win! I get scared easily, so I definitely won’t be reading it at night. I hope the girls end up okay.. not really good for their VCE..

    please let me win! *fingers crossed* n__n

  16. Stephanie says:

    I love the idea of a circular narrative, and the way that they require you rework your initial expectations.

  17. Marcia says:

    My pre-teen son has been swapping novels with school mates, great way for them to read other genres. I’d love to pass this on into the circle.

  18. kylie plester says:

    Seems like a great read that looks at what kind of thigs a teenager could be hiding behind there bad attitude and mood swings

  19. Irene says:

    I love thrillers and can’t wait to see what happens next, sounds very intriguing, a page turning book.

  20. Rebecca says:

    This is a genre I love, and sounds like a great book! Just reading that short description of the story has drawn me in!

  21. Gaye Mallinson says:

    I love reading books but really dont make enough time to do it often enough…If I won it I would read it for sure!!

  22. Vicki says:

    Just from hearing that little snippet I already want to know what happens! I have always found Black Dog books to be quirky and compelling reading, something a little special and different. This sounds like more of the same!

  23. Alison says:

    Young Adult books really captivate me.. Leaves me wishing i had’ve gotten up to more in my teens.
    I have a lot of family who would also love this book! I will just have to buy it if i son’t win!! 😀

  24. Becky Neary says:

    I love these sorts of books- mystery, growing up… love to read it!

  25. olivia says:

    I’m in desperate need of a good read. Can’t seem to pick a story that grabs me lately…..please save me from my bad read run!

  26. Carolyn says:

    The book cover has me thoroughly intrigued and I love reading books that are a little different.

  27. Janine says:

    I have two growing boys who love reading, it would be a thrill to win it for them!

  28. renee hermansen says:

    i havent read a book in ages maybe this will be a good book to give me the bug again.

  29. Michelle Garcia says:

    Karen Tayleur’s coming-of-age story is both masterfully written and thoroughly gripping.

  30. Larabelle says:

    As an English teacher, I am always looking for new books that will engross my students and encourage them to read more! The brief synopsis suggests SIX fits these criteria!

  31. maria says:

    It sounds like a wonderful book and I need to stock up for my summer reading.

  32. Cheryl Beswick says:

    having friends that pass books around to read would love to win these to keep the book chain going

  33. Stehen Clark says:

    YA fiction is for any age, I never want to grow up if it means not reading such great works

  34. MELANIE says:

    After reading the synopsis i think im going to get hooked on this book i would love to win it

  35. I’ve never read her work before! I’m new to your press, and this is a rockin’ way to be introduced to your fine stable of writers.

    -Propaganda Press

  36. Yasmine says:

    I’d like to win because getting lost in stories is when I’m at my happiest. It inspires me to go out and have my own adventures. This book certainly sounds thrilling!

  37. Andrew Ryan says:

    I love Karen Tayleur and I can’t wait for this book to come out – I’d love to win a copy!

  38. I would like to win a)Because I like the cover and b)Because I love to win books online and c)Because I rather like the YA genre even though I am technically an adult.

  39. Anna Lennox says:

    Hi,

    This loooks like an addictive read, the blurb has me wanting to read it already!

  40. Di says:

    I’d love to win because this sounds like a book I can escape with and forget about my problems for a while!

  41. Sandra says:

    Sure finding a dead body isnt common. But it can only represent or show the difficult obstacles teenagers have to overcome before they become adults. Great idea for a text and its something I know I wouldnt be able to take my nose out of for a while!

  42. angelfire says:

    That’s such an awesome competition! Please count me in, Six sounds like a really powerful and emotive book, in a suburban setting.

  43. Ashleigh says:

    I’d like to win because I just can’t put a Karen Tayleur book down!

Leave a Reply

