Work Experience with Coco Watanabe

Hello I am Coco Watanabe.

I am a student currently undertaking work experience at black dog books for one week.

I first became acquainted with the existence of black dog books through Magpie magazine which my family subscribes to. I normally fight with the other members of my family over who gets to read it first  – but luck favoured me that day! I seemed to be the only one in the house when the postie drove up on his little orange auto machine.

A new release by black dog books was advertised on the back cover along with their contact details.  As I had been searching for an interesting place to do work experience, I decided to send them an email, which was replied to straight away. It was a very positive and encouraging reply!

Being from a rather bookish family – my grandfather was a writer, my Dad is now a freelance children’s book writer and mum is an illustrator – I thought work experience at black dog books would be a great opportunity to find out what kind of work really goes into the making of a book. I have learnt that there is an immense amount of work behind every single book that becomes published, whether it is a children’s or young adult book!

The team here is very hardworking and passionate. This week I have learnt that they are flexible and open to new ideas. They have given me quite a few educating experiences during my week here. So far I have read quite a number of unsolicited manuscripts, some of which are incredibly captivating, some of which are quite the contrary! I realised I enjoy doing this as I often don’t find the perfect balance between homework, social time and reading. Sadly homework seems to heavily outweigh both of the latter! As I have discovered it is also lovely to look at books that I wouldn’t normally cast an eye on – quite a number of new genres and authors have been brought to my attention through being here. I believe this work experience has really heightened my experience of books, especially children’s books and the work that goes in to making them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

