Sue Lawson causing trouble on a tram

I was sitting on the tram this morning when I noticed that a girl was reading Sue Lawson’s Allie McGregor’s True Colours which is published by us here at black dog books. It always gives me a bit of a thrill when I see kids actually reading our books out there in the real world so what happened next was even more fun!

The girl reading (girl A for convenience) was standing with her friend Girl B. Girl B turns to Girl A and says (mildly) “oh, I didn’t like that book.” Girl A turns on her friend with a look of absolute disgust and screeches (yes, she is a teen so screech she did) “Oh my God, you are so stupid! I can’t believe you just said that. This is, like, the best book ever!” Girl B is looking a bit stunned and says “I can’t believe you just said that. I am allowed to not like it.” Girl A was furious! She waved the book in her friends face and says “THIS. IS. THE. BEST. BOOK. EVER. EVER! And if you don’t think so you are sooooooooooo stuuuuuuuupid!” The rest of the tram trip they were pretty quiet. But I gotta tell you, if looks could kill Girl A would have killed Girl B, dug her up and killed her again.

The whole incident begs the question “What book are you prepared to fight for?”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sue Lawson causing trouble on a tram

  1. Lyndel says:

    Can’t wait for Sue Lawson’s next book. Wonder if those same girls will still be friends then?
    Looking forward to the release. Cheers.

  2. I don’t know if there is one book I would “fight” for, but I do get hot under the collar when people say “I only read (author name/genre), especially when it is a pop fiction book.

    There are so many great books out there – contemporary fiction, classics, YA fiction, non-fiction… the list goes on. I have favourite authors and genres too, but I am always open to trying something new that has been recommended or reading something that takes me out of my comfort zone. For me, that is one of the great benefits of reading/books.

    • blackdogbytes says:

      I think maybe when I was a teen i probably went to bat for authors and books I loved. But the older I get the more interesting i think it is to listen to why people love the books I don’t – or hate the books I love!

Leave a Reply

